Advisory Board

Susan Burk is the former Special Representative of the President for Non-proliferation during President Obama's first term. Now retired, she is an independent consultant. She currently advises INENS on multilateral policy and institutions issues.


Dr Peter Carter is currently an independent adviser on nuclear issues and the former Head of Nuclear Non-Proliferation in the UK Department of Energy and Climate Change, in which capacity, he, inter alia, served as the alternate to the UK Governor to the IAEA Board. Following an early career in defence-related research, Dr Carter has held a number of posts spanning the UK Ministry of Defence, Department of Trade and Industry and Cabinet Office. He has also worked in the External Relations Directorate of the European Commission in Brussels on non-proliferation). Dr Carter advises INENS on peaceful uses of nuclear technology and other nuclear policy issues. 


Mark Fitzpatrick is a Senior Fellow for Non-Proliferation and Director of the Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Programme at the London-based International Institute for Strategic Studies. He joined the IISS in 2005, after a 26-year career at the US State Department, where one of his last positions was as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Non-proliferation (acting). His primary research focus is on preventing the spread of nuclear weapons, although he has broadened the IISS programme to also cover disarmament, nuclear security and missile proliferation. Mr Fitzpatrick advises INENS on policy research issues.

Dr Roger Howsley is the Executive Director of the World Institute for Nuclear Security, an organisation that aims to help strengthen the physical protection and security of nuclear and radioactive materials and is based in Vienna. He was the former Director of Security, Safeguards and International Affairs (SSIA) for British Nuclear Fuels Ltd. and has over 25 years' international experience relating to nuclear nonproliferation and security across the nuclear fuel cycle, working with the IAEA, Euratom, National Police Forces and security organisations. Dr Howsley advises INENS on nuclear security and nuclear industry issues.

Dr Odette Jankowitsch-Prevor is an independent expert on international and nuclear law, with extensive experience advising governments, publishing and lecturing on nuclear law. She is a former senior lawyer for the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Office of Legal Affairs and the Division of External Relations in the Office of the Director General, a founding Member of the Supervisory Committee of the International School of Nuclear Law (ISNL), Montpellier, France and a lecturer at the the European Safeguards Research and Development Association (ESARDA) in Ispra, Italy. Dr Jankowitsch-Prevor advises the INENS Steering Committee on legal issues.

Andreas Persbo is the Executive Director of the Verification Research, Training and Information Centre (VERTIC) in London. Mr Persbo specialises in nuclear arms control issues including confidence-building measures between states and the verification of nuclear disarmament. Mr Persbo advises INENS on the non-governmental organization research field.

Dr William Potter is the Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar Professor of Nonproliferation Studies and Director of the Centre for Nonproliferation Studies at the Monterey Institute of International Studies in the United States. He has previously served as a consultant to the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and the RAND Corporation. Dr Potter also served on the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters and the Board of Trustees of the UN Institute for Disarmament Research. He is the author or editor of 20 books, the most recent of which are two volumes on Forecasting Nuclear Proliferation in the 21st Century (Stanford University Press, 2010). He has served as a delegate to every NPT Review Conference and Preparatory Committee since 1995. Dr Potter advises INENS on nuclear education issues.

Bernardo Ribeiro works in the Provisional Technical Secretariat of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehemsive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) in Vienna. Before joining the Commission, he spent several years at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), first in the Office of External Relations and Policy Coordination, where he was in charge of negotiating safeguards agreement and additional protocols, and later as a consultant in the Office of Legal Affairs. Prior to that, he was a research fellow in nuclear non-proliferation at the French Institute of International Relations (IFRI) in Paris. Mr Ribeiro advises INENS on policy and diplomatic issues.


Laura Rockwood is a Senior Research Fellow at Harvard University's Belfer Center Managing the Atom programme. She was previously Section Head for Non-Proliferation and Policy Making in the Office of Legal Affairs at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Duing her 28 years at the Agency, she was involved in all aspects of negotiation, interpretation and implementation of IAEA safeguards, and was the principal author of the document that became the Model Additional Protocol. Laura Rockwood advises INENS on nuclear law, IAEA, and broader nuclear issues.


Ambassador Tibor Toth is the Founder and CEO of Glocal Ecubator, and the former Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) where he served as head of the organisation from 2005 to 2013. He has been actively involved in international disarmament and non-proliferation issues for over three decades. He has previously served as Hungary's Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva and in the same capacity to the UN in Vienna. Ambassador Toth advises INENS on international organisations, multilateral policy, and educational issues. 

2012 All rights reserved The International Network of Emerging Nuclear Specialists.
UK Registered Company Limited by Guarantee No. 7747588